People

Co-Directors

Marek Pycia

Prof. Dr. Marek Pycia (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Market Design and Economic Theory

E-Mail:  marek.pycia@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Sven Seuken

Prof. Dr. Sven Seuken (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Market Design, Artificial Intelligence, Economics and Computation, Computational Mechanism Design, Algorithmic Game Theory, Machine Learning

E-Mail: seuken@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

 

Professors

Sandro Ambuehl

Prof. Dr. Carlos Alós-Ferrer (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Neuroeconomics, Decision Theory, Game Theory, Evolution and Learning in Games and Markets

E-Mail:  carlos.alos-ferrer@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Sandro Ambuehl

Prof. Dr. Sandro Ambuehl (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Experimental Economics, Behavioral and Experimental Finance, Behavioral Welfare Economics

E-Mail:  sandro.ambuehl@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Marek Pycia

Prof. Dr. Björn Bartling (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Experimental and behavioral economics

E-Mail:  bjoern.bartling@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Gregory Crawford

Prof. Dr. Gregory Crawford (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Empirical industrial organization, applied econometrics, media economics, economics of antitrust and regulation

E-Mail:  gregory.crawford@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Paul Duetting

Prof. Dr. Paul Duetting (Department of Mathematics, London School of Economics & Google Research)

Research Interests: Algorithmic Game Theory, Mechanism Design, Contract Theory, Machine Learning, Computational Learning Theory

E-Mail:  duetting@google.com

Website

Christian Ewerhart

Prof. Dr. Christian Ewerhart (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Economic theory and its application to financial auctions, liquidity, and interbank markets

E-Mail:  christian.ewerhart@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Hans Gersbach

Prof. Dr. Hans Gersbach (Department of Management, Technology, and Economics, ETH)

Research Interests: Macroeconomic Thinking and Economic Policy, Innovation, the Engines of Growth and Long-​term Well-​being, Design of New Organizations/Institutions and their Foundations

E-Mail:  hgersbach@ethz.ch

Website

Thorsten Hens

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hens (Department of Banking and Finance, UZH)

Research Interests: Evolutionary Finance, Behavioral Finance

E-Mail:  thorsten.hens@bf.uzh.ch

Website

Heinrich Nax

Prof. Dr. Heinrich Nax (Institute of Sociology, UZH)

Research Interests: (Experimental/Behavioral) Market Design, Learning in Games applied to Markets and Collective Goods

E-Mail:  nax@soziologie.uzh.ch

Website

Nick Netzer

Prof. Dr. Nick Netzer (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Decision theory, game theory, behavioral economics

E-Mail:  nick.netzer@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Georg Nöldeke

Prof. Dr. Georg Nöldeke (Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Basel)

Research Interests: Microeconomic theory, game theory, and social evolution

E-Mail:  georg.noeldeke@unibas.ch

Website

Kyell G. Nyborg

Prof. Dr. Kjell G. Nyborg (Department of Banking and Finance, UZH)

Research Interests: Liquidity, money markets, and banking; financial auctions; corporate finance; taxes and cost of capital

E-Mail:  kjell.nyborg@bf.uzh.ch

Website

Jan Christoph Schlegel

Prof. Dr. Jan Christoph Schlegel (Department of Economics, University of London)

Research Interests: market design, matching theory

E-Mail:  jan-christoph.schlegel@city.ac.uk

Website

Karl Schmedders

Prof. Dr. Karl Schmedders (Department of Business Administration, UZH)

Research Interests: Asset Pricing, Computational Economics and Finance, Data Science, Portfolio Optimization

E-Mail:  karl.schmedders@business.uzh.ch

Website

Armin Schmutzler

Prof. Dr. Armin Schmutzler (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Industrial organization, environmental economics

E-Mail:  armin.schmutzler@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Jakub Steiner

Prof. Dr. Jakub Steiner (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Game Theory, Behavioural Economics, Information Economics

E-Mail:  jakub.steiner@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Dezsö Szalay

Prof. Dr. Dezsö Szalay (Department of Economics, University of Bonn)

Research Interests: Contract Theory, Information Economics, Financial Contracting, Industrial Organization, Game Theory

E-Mail:  szalay@uni-bonn.de

Website

Josef Teichmann

Prof. Dr. Josef Teichmann (Department of Mathematics, ETH)

Research Interests: mathematical finance, quantitative risk management and insurance mathematics

E-Mail:  jteichma@math.ethz.ch

Website

Roger Wattenhofer

Prof. Dr. Roger Wattenhofer (Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, ETH)

Research Interests: networks and graphs, algorithms, game theory, computational economy, machine learning, cryptocurrency, blockchain

E-Mail:  wattenhofer@ethz.ch

Website

Postdocs

Ludwig Dierks

Ludwig Dierks (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Mechanism Design, Market Design, Preference Elicitation, Cloud Computing

E-Mail: dierks@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Samuel Häfner

Samuel Häfner (Institute of Economics, University of St. Gallen)

Research Interests: Auctions, Contest Theory, Contract Theory

E-Mail: samuel.haefner@unisg.ch

Website

Ph.D. Students

Vitor Bosshard

Vitor Bosshard (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Combinatorial Auctions, Algorithm Design, Mechanism Design

E-Mail: bosshard@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Paul Friedrich

Paul Friedrich (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Interpretable Machine Learning, Optimization, Statistics and their applications

E-Mail: paul@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Simon Jantschgi

Simon Jantschgi (Institute of Sociology, UZH)

Research Interests: Behavioral and Experimental Game Theory, Market and Mechanism Design

E-Mail: jantschgi@soziologie.uzh.ch

Website

Luzius Meisser

Luzius Meisser (Department of Banking and Finance, UZH)

Research Interests: Agent-based Economics, Evolutionary Finance, Financial Economics, Cryptocurrencies

E-Mail: luzius.meisser@bf.uzh.ch

Website

Nils Olberg

Nils Olberg (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Matching Markets, Machine Learning, Combinatorial Optimization

E-Mail: olberg@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Ermis Soumalias

Ermis Soumalias (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Mechanism Design, Learning Theory, Machine Learning

E-Mail: ermis@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Julian Teichgräber

Julian Teichgräber (Department of Economics, UZH)

Research Interests: Market Design, Game Theory, Behavioral Economics, Social Learning

E-Mail: julian.teichgraeber@econ.uzh.ch

Website

Jakob Weissteiner

Jakob Weissteiner (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Statistical Learning Theory, Market Design, Mechanism Design, Financial Mathematics.

E-Mail: weissteiner@ifi.uzh.ch

Website

Behnoosh Zamanlooy

Behnoosh Zamanlooy (Department of Computer Science, UZH)

Research Interests: Machine Learning, Market Design, Approximation and Generalization Properties of Universal Approximators

E-Mail: bzamanlooy@ifi.uzh.ch

Website